Sponsored by

in cooperation with

Sponsored by

Help Promote

Past Events

How to become
a SYSTOR supporter

Connect with us


Keynote Speakers


Kim Keeton
Dr. Kimberly Keeton's multi-decade research career has focused on the challenges of exploiting emerging technologies and making data management systems easier to design, administer and use.
Her recent work focuses on data management for disaggregated persistent memory architectures. Her research has led to numerous publications and patents and has contributed to multiple products, including the Express Query metadata database for HPE's StoreAll archiving solution. Kim has served as Program Co-Chair of OSDI, EuroSys, SIGMETRICS, FAST, and DSN/PDS.
She received her PhD and MS in Computer Science from UC Berkeley, and her BS in Computer Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon.
She is a Fellow of the ACM and the IEEE.


Alexandra Fedorova, UBC
Dr. Alexandra Fedorova received her PhD from Harvard in 2006, where she had an honor to work under the supervision of Margo Seltzer on her thesis Operating System Scheduling for Multicore Processors.
During her PhD she interned at Sun Microsystems Labs, where she contributed to development of the Niagara processor simulator and experimented with adopting transactional memory in real applications.
Between 2006 and 2015 she was an Assistant and then Associate professor at the School of Computing Science at SFU. She joined the ECE department at the University of British Columbia in 2015. Her research focuses broadly on systems, and she is especially interested in memory management and solving the "memory wall" problem.
She is a recipient of the Anita Borg Early Career award and of the Alfred P. Sloan research fellowship.


Shan Lu, University of Chicago
Shan Lu is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Chicago. She received her Ph.D. at University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 2008. She was the Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor of Computer Sciences at University of Wisconsin, Madison, from 2009 to 2014. Her research focuses on software reliability and efficiency, particularly detecting, diagnosing, and fixing functional and performance bugs in large software systems. Shan is an ACM Distinguished Member (2019 class), an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (2014), a Distinguished Educator Alumnus from Department of Computer Science at University of Illinois (2013), and NSF Career Award recipient (2010).
Her co-authored papers won Google Scholar Classic Paper 2017, Best Paper Awards at ACM-SIGOPS SOSP 2019, USENIX OSDI 2016 and USENIX FAST 2013, 3 ACM-SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Awards at ICSE 2019, ICSE 2015 and FSE 2014, an ACM CHI Honorable Mention Award 2021, an ACM-SIGPLAN Research Highlight Award at PLDI 2011, and an IEEE Micro Top Picks in ASPLOS 2006. Shan is also a member of the informal ASPLOS Hall of Fame.
Shan currently serves as the Chair of ACM-SIGOPS (2019 --), Member-at-Large of ACM SIG Governing Board Executive Committee (2020 -- 2022), and the Associate Editor for IEEE Computer Architecture Letters. She serves/served as the technical program co-chair for USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI) in 2020, USENIX Annual Technical Conference (ATC) in 2015, and ACM Asia-Pacific Systems Workshop (APSys) in 2018.